Last 2022 Results: Winners of the Singapore Violin Competition


Results at a glance


First Prize:    Dmytro Udovychenko 
Second Prize:    Anna Agafia Egholm 
Third Prize:     Angela Sin Ying Chan 


Qian Zhou (Chair), Martin Beaver, Martin Engstroem, Lee Kyung Sun, Mihaela Martin, Joel Smirnoff, Tsu Vera Weiling and Krzysztof Wegrzyn.


Singapore Symphony Orchestra/ Joshua Kangming Tan, Conductor


Dmytro Udovychenko

Anna Agafia Egholm

Anna Agafia Egholm

Angela Chan

Angela Sin Ying Chan

The Singapore International Violin Competition at the Yong Siew Toh Conservatory announced Dmytro Udovychenko as its 2022 winner. A native of Kharkiv, Udovychenko is currently a student of Christian Tetzlaff at the Kronberg Academy.  He has won major prizes at the Jascha Heifetz, Joseph Joachim, Odesa and Jean Sibelius Violin Competitions. He has performed with major orchestras such as the  Brandenburger Symphoniker, Slovak Sinfonietta, Sønderiyllands Symphoniker (Denmark), NDR Radiophilarmonie, Moscow Virtuosos Orchestra conducted by Vladimir Spivakov (Moscow), National Philharmonic Orchestra of Ukraine (Kyiv), and Odesa Philharmonic Orchestra.

Second Prize winner Anna Agafia Egholm, born in Copenhagen, is currently serving as artist in residence at the Queen Elisabeth Music Chapel under the guidance of Augustin Dumay. She is a laureate of the Ginette Neveu, Carl Nielsen, and Tibor Varga Intl. Violin Competitions.

Hong Kong native Angela Sin Ying Chan, Third Prize, studied with Shmuel Ashkenasi, Pamela Frank, and Aaron Rosand at Curtis and is currently pursuing her Masters degree at the New England Conservatory with Donald Weilerstein. She has won at the Louis Spohr, Harbin, and Michael Hill intl. Violin Competitions.

Besides cash prizes totalling over USD 110.000, the winners will be given a three-year fine violin loan from the Rin Collection, which includes instruments by Stradivari (Ex-D´Annunzio Baccara, 1680), Tononi, Montagnana, Guadagnini, Storioni and Pressenda.