Clarinet Magic in Dusseldorf

Australian Clarinetist wins the annual Aeolus Competition for wind instruments

With a record 320 applications from 42 countries, the annual Aeolus Competition for wind instruments was back this September after a one-year break due to the pandemic. The concours is held since 2006 with the support of the Sieghardt Rometsch- Foundation; the finalists at the Dusseldorf Tonhalle were accompanied by Dusseldorf Symphony Orchestra under Belarus conductor and 2021 Toscanini Competition winner Vitali Alekseenov.

Privately organized, the International Aeolus Competition for Wind Instruments is one of the very few woodwind contests and has firmly established itself as a worldwide recognized stage for Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon, Saxophone, Trumpet, Horn, Trombone and Tuba. Many of its previous winners have won audition for positions in major symphony orchestras.
Aeolus Competition is open to young musicians of all nationalities younger than 28 years. Each year three of the Instrument groups are opened for competition: 2022 the competition called for Clarinet, Horn and Saxophone. The total prize money was € 60,000 with a first prize of € 20,000.


Oliver Shermacher, First Prize

First Prize: Oliver Shermacher (27) , Australia, Clarinet
Second Prize: Karsten Hoffmann , Germany, Horn
Third Prize: Salvatore Alessandro Miceli ,Saxophon

Special Prizes:
Audience Prize: Oliver Shermacher, Clarinet
The Special Prize for the best interpretation of a contemporary piece: Roman Markelov, Saxophone

Christoph Campestrini (Chair), Daniel Gauthier, Michel Lethiec, Ralph Manno, Frøydis Ree Wekre, Radovan Vlatkovic, Raimund Wippermann, Alexandre Souillart

The Düsseldorfer Symphoniker / Vitali Alekseenok, Conductor

FR/ ©WFIMC 2022