Jooyeon Ka wins the 65th Premio Jaén

Great performers at Spain´s oldest piano competition

The young pianist Jooyeon Ka has won the final of the 65º International Piano Contest 'Jaén' Award, organized by the Provincial Council of Jaén, with her spotless interpretation of Chopin's F minor concerto. Accompanied by the Malaga Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by Salvador Vázquez, she finished ahead of Roberto Rúmenov and Deren Wang. An early favourite of the public, Ruben Rúmenov also received the Audience Award.

President of the Jury was once again Albert Attenelle, former pianist of the Trio de Barcelona. 

Prize winners and Jury 2024

Born in 1995 in South Korea, Jooyeon Ka studied with Young-Wook Yoo, Eunjoo Heo and Minja Shin. Having graduated from Yonsei University, she is currently continuing her studies with Jacques Rouvier at the Mozarteum in Salzburg. She is a winner of the Henle Piano Competition in Korea, Korean Chopin Piano Competition and New York International Piano Competition. She has appeared with many Korean orchestras, including the Suwon, Daegu and Prime Philharmonic orchestras and has received the Korean Culture Minister’s Award in 2020.

Jooyeon Ka, 1st prize winner

The 65th edition of the Prize Jaén offered a total of 60.000 EUR in Prize money. Jaén is the longest-running international piano competition in Spain and has been held since 1958. It is a member of the federation since 2004.

1st Prize: Jooyeon Ka (28), Seoul
2nd Prize: Roberto Rúmenov (23), Madrid
3rd Prize: Deren Wang (26), Amsterdam

Albert Attenelle (Chair), Ernesto Rocío Blanco, Pilar Bilbao, Mariana Gurkova, Stephan Möller, Ralf Nattkemper, Marianna Prjevalskaya, Graham Scott, Yukine Uehara

Málaga Philharmonic Orchestra / Salvador Vázquez (Conductor)


©️WFIMC 2024

Roberto Rúmenov , 2nd prize winner

Deren Wang, 3rd prize winner