Toronto - The Azrieli Music Prizes

Established in 2014, the biennial Azrieli Music Prizes (AMP) is Canada’s largest competition devoted to music composition. AMP advances the Azrieli Foundation’s commitment to discovering, elevating and amplifying artistic voices that exhibit excellence and embodies its belief in music as a vital human endeavour that expresses our creativity, expands our worldview and fosters positive cultural exchange.

Open to the international music community, AMP accepts nominations for works from individuals and institutions of all ages, genders, nationalities, faiths and backgrounds, which are then submitted to its expert juries through an open call for scores and proposals.

Past prize-winners include Iranian-Canadian composer Iman Habibi (2022), Canadian- born Israeli composer Aharon Harlap (2022), Canadian composer Rita Ueda (2022), Canadian composer Keiko Devaux (2020), Dutch-born American composer Yotam Haber (2020), Israeli-born Australian composer Yitzhak Yedid (2020), Israeli-American composer Avner Dorman (2018), Canadian composer Kelly-Marie Murphy (2018), Canadian composer Brian Current (2016) and U.S.-based Polish composer Wlad Marhulets (2016).


Competition 2025

This year, for its fifth competition, AMP is seeking scores and proposals for a cappella choral works that match the forces of its Performance Partner – the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal Chorus (OSM Chorus) – including up to four additional instruments and/or soloists. The three Azrieli Music Prizes from previous editions remain: The Azrieli Commission for Canadian Music, The Azrieli Commission for Jewish Music and The Azrieli Prize for Jewish Music. A fourth category, the inaugural Azrieli Commission for International Music, is a new addition to this competition.

The total package for each Azrieli Music Prize is valued at over $200,000 CAD, placing AMP among the most significant composition competitions in the world.

The deadline for submissions for all four Prizes is Friday, May 5, 2023, and the four 2024 AMP laureates will be announced by November 2, 2023.

For more information about the 2024 Azrieli Music Prizes, please visit . Full application guidelines, information about the Prize juries and biographies of past laureates may be found here.



Jason van Eyk
The Azrieli Foundation
2 St Clair Avenue West, 9th Floor
Toronto, Ontario M4V 1L5

Send message

On the red carpet at the 2022 AMP Gala Concert (L to R): Soloist Naomi Sato, Conductor Alexandre Bloch, Soloist Sharon Azrieli, 2022 AMP Laureate Rita Ueda and Soloist Zhongxi Wu. ©️Danylo Bobyk

A percussionist of the Orchestre Métropolitain improvises with soloist Zhongxi Wu in a segment of Birds Calling…from the Canada in You by 2022 AMP Laureate Rita Ueda. ©️Danylo Bobyk

Final bows at the 2022 AMP Gala Concert (L to R): Soloist Sharon Azrieli, 2022 AMP Laureate Aharon Harlap, 2022 AMP Laureate Iman Habibi, Soloist Sepideh Raissadet, Soloist Zhongxi Wu, 2022 AMP Laureate Rita Ueda, Soloist Naomi Sato and Conductor Alexandre Bloch with the Orchestre Métropolitain©️Danylo Bobyk

2020 AMP Laureates Yitzhak Yedid, Keiko Devaux and Yotam Haber at the NYC premieres of their AM-winning works by Talea Ensemble. ©️Danylo Bobyk

2018 Laurate Kelly-Marie Murphy with conductor Yoav Talmi and the Orchestre classique de Montréal (credit: Danylo Bobyk)

Maestro Steven Mercurio, cellist Ariel Barnes, soprano Sharon Azrieli, harpist Heidi Krutzen and violinist Lara St. John with the Czech National Symphony Orchestra (credit: Lukáš Bíba)